coping with trauma

by Black Captain

http://projectunbreakable.tumblr.com/post/41316660615

a few months into my work, my incorrect assumption surfaced: I wasn’t sleeping well, I questioned the intentions of every person I met, I neglected relationships with people important to me, I couldn’t stop talking about work, and if I did stop, I was still thinking about it. Suddenly, it seemed like my entire life became focused on sexual assault. I had turned into someone I didn’t recognize in the mirror, complete with bags under my eyes and disheveled hair.

A few months into my own personal state of disaster, I met Laura and became familiar with her work at the Trauma Stewardship Institute. One of the first things she ever said to me was, “If you want to continue with this work, there are things that you are going to have to change.” While friends and family had hinted that my work was affecting my personal life, Laura was able to describe exactly how working in trauma could affect someone – and she also provided tangible steps to continue my work in a healthy manner, giving me back the hope that I had lost.

